MedTech I.Q.

The Cutting Edge of Medical Technology Content, Community & Collaboration


The NIH Expands National Consortium for Transforming Clinical and Translational Research, and Releases First Progress Report. Seven Institutions to Receive $171 Million Over 5 Years to Help Researchers Turn Laboratory Discoveries into Treatments for Patients.

Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSAs) will be made to seven more academic health centers, bringing the consortium to 46 member institutions...This national network of medical research institutions is working to accelerate the process that develops laboratory discoveries into treatments for patients, to engage communities in clinical research and to train a new generation of clinical and translational researchers...

The NCRR also released the first progress report outlining the impact of the CTSA program in its first two years.

Launched in 2006, this network now includes awardees in 26 states. When the program is fully implemented, it will support approximately 60 CTSAs across the nation...

To view the full report, visit

The institutions receiving new CTSA funding include:

* Medical University of South Carolina (Charleston)
* Mount Sinai School of Medicine (New York City)
* New York University School of Medicine (New York City)
* University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (Little Rock)
* University of Florida (Gainesville)
* University of Illinois at Chicago
* University of Texas Medical Branch (Galveston)

View descriptions of the CTSA awardees at View descriptions of the CTSA awardees at

These seven institutions join the University of Cincinnati, announced earlier this year, as the 2009 CTSA recipients.



Views: 14

© 2021   Created by CC-Conrad Clyburn-MedForeSight.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service